The judging of the Human Rights Press Awards was in the capable hands of 19 volunteer judges in the fields of media, law, academia and human rights.

Bettina Wassener is a writer, consultant and a former business correspondent for the Financial Times and the International New York Times.

Jacqueline Leong has been the Human Rights Press Awards’ legal expert since its inception in 1996. She is a Hong Kong Senior Counsel and former director of the Hong Kong Bar Association.

Armin Kalyanram was a High Court counsel in Mumbai before moving to Hong Kong in 2006. She is an active volunteer with NGOs like Helpers for Domestic Helpers and the Hong Kong Refugee Advice Centre.

Serenade Woo is a project manager of the International Federation of Journalists Asia Pacific Office. She is also a former member of the executive council of Amnesty International Hong Kong.

Jonathan Hopfner is a managing director at New Narrative. He is a former Reuters news editor.

Douglas Wong is Asia Legal Editor at Bloomberg News. He has also worked for the Financial Times and The Straits Times and is a former FCC president.

Jim Laurie has been a journalist and broadcaster for 40 years and heads Focus Asia Productions, a video and television consultancy. He is also a consultant for CCTV English News.

Neil Western is the Asia business editor at the Hong Kong bureau of The Wall Street Journal and was the FCC president from 2015-2016.

Liu Kin-ming is a veteran journalist, public affairs consultant, founder of the KM & Associates consultancy and former Awards prizewinner. He was former chairman of the HKJA and a member of the FCC Board.

Shirley Yam is the vice-chairperson of the Hong Kong Journalists’ Association and a columnist at the South China Morning Post.

Chong Yiu-kwong is a solicitor and a senior teaching fellow at the Department of Education Policy and Leadership at the Hong Kong Institute of Education.

Petula Ho Sik-ying is an Associate Professor at the Department of Social Work and Social Administration, University of Hong Kong.

Icarus Wong Ho-yin is the convener of Civil Human Rights Front.

Bruce Lui Ping-kuen is a former principal China reporter for Cable TV and is a Ming Pao columnist and senior lecturer at Hong Kong Baptist University.

Eric Poon Tat-pui is a veteran producer who has made more than 100 documentaries for RTHK since 1993 and is an associate professor at the School of Journalism & Communication at ChineseU.

Joseph Tse Chi-fung is a veteran journalist who was the presenter of the TV programme “City Forum”. He is now a freelance journalist.

Angela Lee is a former board member of Amnesty International Hong Kong and has acted as a judge for the Awards since its inception in 1996.

Carsten Schael is an award-winning German photographer and a member of the FCC Board.

Chung Lam-chi is the Hong Kong Press Photographers’ Association chairman.

Close Menu